You’ve Landed in a Far Away Place

You’ve managed to make your way onto this blog, and you begin to ponder what kind of place you’ve landed yourself in.

This is the blog of Tanya Johnson, an amateur writer who tends to sway predominantly towards fantasy fiction. I am a Pharmaceutical Dispenser, who has been signed off work for some time with some mental health issues, including anxiety, severe depression and anger-related issues. Despite loving the work, pharmacy is a stressful career to the majority to staff members, and it unfortunately enhances some problems that I was dealing with. This caused my brain to…well, break.

Therefore, being signed off work I spent the first few months in physical and mental agony, trying to fix myself or at least, allowing other people to try. People from the mental health system. Nobody was able to help me in general until I got put onto an extremely low dose anti-psychotic medication and it allowed my impulses to lessen. This meant I could participate in a hobby due to a lack of anger and slightly less self-doubt and consequently decided to spend my time participating in a healthier form of escapism to my previous habits, and I began to write.

Just me at a music festival in Birmingham 2019.

This is the first blog that I have ever attempted to write, and after some research into blog writing, I have decided to simply write how I feel to, whilst incorporating some form of structure featured online that I would have lacked before. This will be a very personal blog to compile my work and attempt to publish some opinionated posts.

If you’re anything like myself, you tend to be driven to accomplish large goals. But only in your mind. Your body and soul cannot cooperate, nor can they keep up and you’re left there wondering if you should bother pursuing any form of writing when you lack to motivation to do so. In later posts, I will include my personal journey through writing in the form of small posts to do with carrying my notebook everywhere, or writing whilst in the bath.

Here’s hoping that you can stop yourself being so lazy and/or unmotivated in yourself (whilst remembering to take breaks and have fun), and travel with me on the writing adventure. We are all able to write without amazing abilities, techniques and skill sets. We are all unique and amazing. (Little positive reinforcement for us all there.)

Other than what will hopefully be motivational posts, you’ll also get a chance to see my personal collection thus far of flash fiction and poetry. I will also be posting my entries in competitions I have entered – successful or not – or where work has been published or simply displayed.

I will always be encouraging you to post all of your work and achievements under any and all of my posts. Any type of comment is always welcome….it means that you’re writing something…anything.

Due to this, I am hoping that feedback in comments will be based on your own discovery in the way of motivation and therefore, I hope to see comments involving your own creativity and the product of this.

I’m also available for private emails if you have any questions, advice, complaints or just need to have a good vent. I am not a very good advice-giver for many personal problems, but I sure do know how to listen and I have been through many emotional tortures, so can often offer information on who to talk to in England.

I’m here.

You’re here.

Let’s write!

Published by TMJ_Author

Tanya Johnson is a creative writer in predominantly fantasy-based flash fiction. Born and raised in East Angela, England. Tanya is a Pharmaceutical Dispenser after attending Northampton College and completing a BTEC level 3 in Applied Science (Distinction, Distinction, Merit triple grade). The idea of writing came about at the beginning of 2020 in attempts to improve her personal well being. Whilst writing, Tanya hopes to help others in similar situations regarding mental health. Working on her full-length fantasy and mystery novels. Tanya is featured on the Christopher Fielden website for stories of exactly 81 words, whilst due to being featured on the 101-word story flash fiction website.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started